SOUTHEAST FLORIDA REGIONAL PARTNERSHIP

To: SCI Executive Committee

AGENDA ITEM #4

From: SEFRP Staff

Date: July 27, 2012 Meeting

Subject: Minutes of the June 1st Meeting

The Southeast Florida Regional Partnership's (Partnership) Executive Committee convened at the offices of the Broward County Metropolitan Planning Organization located at 100 West Cypress Creek Road, Suite 850, in Fort Lauderdale.

Meeting Attendees:

The meeting was called to order at 10:19 a.m. and concluded at 12:06 p.m. In attendance were the following Executive Committee members (listed in alphabetical order):

- Commissioner Heather Carruthers (attended via webinar)
- Mr. Doug Bournique
- Mr. Art Cobb
- Ms. Carla Coleman
- Ms. Sara Fain (following membership approval)
- Commissioner Ed Fielding (attended via webinar)
- Mr. Kevin Foley
- Commissioner Suzanne Gunzburger
- Mr. Tom Gustafson
- Commissioner Karen Marcus
- Mr. Ed Massey (attended via webinar)
- Commissioner Peter O'Bryan
- Ms. Susan O'Rourke (following membership approval)
- Mr. Jack Osterholt
- Mr. William Perry
- Ms. Kelly Smallridge
- Mr. Ken Jeffries (attended via webinar on behalf of District VI Secretary Gus Pego)
- Mr. Ed Swift (attended via webinar)
- Mr. Ramon Trias
- District IV Secretary James Wolfe

Excused Absence

- Mayor Samuel Ferreri, Chair
- Mr. Michael Spring
- Mr. Norm Taylor
- Mr. Barrington Wright

Acting Chair Commissioner Gunzburger called the Executive Committee Meeting to order at 10:19 a.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Mr. Eric Swanson of Council staff called the roll and determined a quorum was present. The Chair requested a sequence change to the Agenda. A motion to approve the Agenda reorganization was offered by Mr. Doug Bournique and seconded by Mr. Kevin Foley. The motion carried unanimously. Following the approval of the agenda, a motion to approve the March 30th meeting minutes was offered by Mr. Doug Bournique and seconded by Mr. Jack Osterholt. The motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Carla Coleman, Chair of the Organization and Equity Subcommittee, provided an update on the group's effort to populate the remaining Executive Committee membership openings. Ms. Coleman presented seven membership recommendations. A discussion over proposed at-large membership followed. Members of the Subcommittee highlighted the importance of having the membership expanded while maintaining a balance of geographic and subject matter expertise. A motion to approve the Executive Committee Nominees as proposed by r the Organization and Equity Subcommittee was offered by Mr. Ramon Trias and seconded by Mr. Kevin Foley. The motion carried unanimously. Listed below are the new members appointed to the Executive Committee.

New Executive Committee Candidates & Applicable Membership Criteria:

- Mr. Gepsie Metellus, SFRPC Underrepresented Populations
- Mr. Doug Bartel, Health Representative
- Ms. Sara Fain, Environmental Representative
- Ms. Kathryn Hensley, Education K12 Representative
- Ms. Raquel Regalado, Education Vocational Representative
- Mr. Dennis Gallon, At-large Recommendation
- Ms. Susan O'Rourke, At-large Recommendation

Following the motion and discussion of Executive Committee Candidates, Ms. Jolie Balido and Mr. Jacques Hart of ROAR Media introduced a proposed new identity for the Regional Vision and Blueprint for Economic Prosperity: "Seven50, SE Florida Prosperity Plan". The consultants additionally described a marketing campaign to support the successful launch and branding of the project. The presentation was welcomed with positive remarks from the Committee. A motion to accept the proposed marketing strategy and project's new identity was offered by Commissioner Carruthers and seconded by Mr. Kevin Foley. The motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Camblor-Cutsaimanis, Project Director, followed with a financial update on the adopted budget and monitoring system to track project expenditures. Ms. Camblor-Cutsaimanis summarized the adopted change to the management structure and its impact to decreased monthly expenses by both Councils. She also provided financial information of Master Consultant expenses. Under the current scenarios, Ms. Camblor-Cutsaimanis stated that the plan is anticipated to be completed on time and within budget. Following the financial update, a discussion occurred over the project's workgroup alignment with the State's Six Pillars effort.

The project update was followed by a discussion regarding a Corrective Action Plan to the "Pre-High Risk" notification received from HUD. The Grantee (SFRPC) was categorized as "pre-high risk" due to a "lower-than-average internal burn rate". Staff informed the Executive Committee that the required Corrective Action Plan would be prepared and all necessary information submitted for review to satisfy HUD's concerns.

Following the discussion of the Corrective Action Plan, Ms. Camblor-Cutsaimanis introduced Action Plan #3, which addresses the creation of the Climate Resilience element of the Seven50 plan, completes the SE Florida Regional Climate Compact and provide technical assistance and expansion of the Compact Action planning process to the northern counties of the SE Florida Region. A motion to approve Action Plan #3 and to authorize staff to work out details with the Chair of the Executive Committee and representatives of the northern counties was offered by Mr. Doug Bournique and seconded by Mr. Ramon Trias. The motion carried unanimously.

An update on the June 27th Opening Summit and the "roll out" of the Seven50 regional planning effort was presented by the Project Director and by Mr. Victor Dover, principal in charge of lead consultant firm Dover Kohl and Partners. Mr. Dover generally described the purpose of the Summit to include: a) a bold start for the project; b) a description of "Where We Are" as a Region; c) articulation of the urgency of long-range regional planning; and d) the convening of the first meeting of the Workgroups. Mr. Dover indicated that the event would be interactive with an enhanced participatory process of video testimonials and workshop-styled input exercises.

Following the Opening Summit update, Ms. Coleman requested additional volunteers from the Executive Committee to represent the Committee in Workgroups. Listed below are the Workgroups and volunteers. If able to attend the Opening Summit, volunteers are expected to participate in their respective Work Groups.

Work Groups

A. Education, Workforce, and Economic Development

Kevin Foley

Kelly Smallridge

Heather Carruthers

Dr. Dennis Gallon

- .
- B. Development Patterns (Housing, Transportation, Healthy Communities)
 - Barrington Wright

• Jim Wolfe

Tom Gustafson	ı	Ramon Trias
 Peter O'Bryan 		
C. Climate Resilience		
 Sara Fain 	I	Ed Swift
 Ed Fielding 		
D. Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture		
 Ed Fielding 	I	Doug Bournique
 Kathryn Henesley 		
E. Community Assets and Culture		
 Suzanne Gunzburger 	I	Art Cobb
 Ed Massey 		
F. Inclusive Regional Leadership & Equity		
 William Perry 	I	Karen Marcus
 Carla Coleman 		

The meeting was adjourned at 12:06 p.m.

Agendas and other material mentioned above are available on the project's website <u>www.Seven50.org</u> and at SFRPC's website under Southeast Florida Regional Partnership <u>www.sfrpc.com/Regional%20Partnership.htm</u>