

SOUTH FLORIDA LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE - DISTRICT 11

MEETING MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, August 25, 2010 @ 10:00 AM

South Florida Regional Planning Council 3440 Hollywood Blvd, Suite 140 Hollywood, FL 33021 <u>www.sfrpc.com/lepc.htm</u>

1. Welcome and Opening Remarks

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chair Gary Koen at 10:02 am.

2. Introductions

In attendance were Miguel Ascarrunz, James Baptiste, Niel Batista, Bob Christensen, George Colson, Mike DiGiovanni, Larry Doyle, Exercise Subcommittee Chair Juan Farach, Ana Gannon, Mauricio Gomez, Jim Hite, Jaimie Johnson, Paulette Kandel, Vice Chair Gary Koen, Nick Kontax, Ray McDonald, Yvette McLeod, Brian Mitchell, Chris Musser, David Ostrander, Irene Toner and Coordinator Manny Cela. Also present were Barry Fernandez, Mike McGann, Mark Steele, Barry Stewart and Eric Swanson.

3. **Previous Meeting Summary**

A motion was made by Larry Doyle to approve the minutes from the June 2, 2010 Meeting. The motion was seconded by Neil Batista and approved unanimously.

4. Subcommittee Reports

Training Subcommittee (Bob Marton, Chair)

Manny Cela reported for Chair Bob Marton and briefed the members on training activities for the year. Mr. Cela described the date, location and attendance for each of the classes offered so far and those still to come. The briefing also included other non-LEPC sponsored training offered by the South Florida Regional Planning Council.

Exercise Subcommittee (Juan Farach, Chair)

Chair Juan Farach briefed the members on the June 4, 2010 Tabletop Exercise in Sunrise. Mr. Farach thanked all those that participated in the event, especially the five regional HazMat teams that were represented.

Planning Subcommittee (Eric Borbe, Chair)

Manny Cela reported for Chair Eric Borbe and indicated that all planning activities for this fiscal year were finished. The Committee will decide at its December 1, 2010 meeting the HMEP Planning Grant Option for next year.



5. Membership Changes (Manny Cela)

Manny Cela presented one new membership application as follows:

Jim Hite, Safety and Security Director, Holy Cross Hospital, as Alternate for Martin Klett in the Hospital category

The application was moved and seconded and the vote was unanimous.

6. HazMat Emergency Response Plan

The HazMat Emergency Response Plan was submitted to FDEM in June 2010.

7. SoFlaLEPC Coordinator Report (Manny Cela)

Manny Cela indicated that LEPCs are required to hold Chair and Vice-Chair elections following the biennial reappointment of members at the July SERC meeting. Mr. Cela stated that an email was sent to all members indicating that both Chair George Danz and Vice-Chair Gary Koen had expressed an interest in continuing in their current positions. The email also requested any additional nominations for those positions but that none were received. Ray McDonald moved the nominations and was seconded by Paulette Kandel. The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Cela stated that one additional item requiring a vote had come up after the Agenda was prepared. Each year, the SERC presents the Thomas Yatabe Award to an individual from each LEPC and also awards two Certificates of Appreciation. In consultation with Chair George Danz, Mr. Cela proposed that the Thomas Yatabe nomination go to Juan Farach for his efforts as Chair of the Exercise Subcommittee. Nominations for the two certificates should go to Sgt. Mike DiGiovanni for his support of LEPC training activities in Monroe County and to Capt. Ron White for serving as technical advisor for the June 2010 Tabletop Exercise. The nominations were moved, seconded and passed unanimously.

8. Member Comments

New and recent members Jim Hite and Chris Musser used this opportunity to introduce themselves to the members and described their background, experience and current positions.

9. Upcoming Meetings

The next SoFlaLEPC Meeting will take place December 1, 2010 at 10 am in the SFRPC Hollywood offices. Additional information on upcoming meetings, agendas and minutes can be found on the SoFlaLEPC website <u>www.sfrpc.com/lepc/meetings.htm</u>.

10. Adjourn

Ray McDonald motioned to adjourn the meeting at 11:20 am, which was seconded by Chris Musser and passed unanimously.