This section presents demographic data on the South Florida region and its component counties and municipalities in graphics and tabular form.  South Florida refers to Broward, Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties .   Treasure Coast refers to Palm Beach, Martin, St. Lucie and Indian River Counties .  Click here for an overview of the demographic characteristics of the region made up of both South Florida and Treasure Coast , also referred to as Southeast Florida .


US Census Bureau

Census 2000
                                   Census 2010                             American Community Survey

Annual Estimates of the Population for Counties with Components of Change, 2010 to 2012

South Florida + Treasure Coast


Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA)


South Florida

Treasure Coast




Palm Beach


St. Lucie

Indian River

The University of Florida’s Bureau of Economic and Business Research (BEBR) produces Florida's official state and county population estimates and projections; develops economic forecasts; collects survey data from Florida households and businesses; conducts studies of Florida's education, healthcare and transportation systems; and publishes the Florida Statistical Abstract.

Decennial Population Estimates and Projections, 1920-2040

Municipal Population Estimates and Rates of Growth, 1990-2014


Back to 
Our Region


* Portable Document Formatviewed with Adobe Acrobat Reader software. Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

This page and all contents prepared by the SFRPC.